Decentralized Identity Foundation


Enable a world where decentralized identity solutions allow entities to gain control over their identities and allow trusted interactions.


The Decentralized Identity Foundation (DIF) exists to advance the interests of the decentralized identity community, including performing research and development to advance “pre-competitive” technical foundations towards established interoperable, global standards.

Governing Documents

The documents that are currently accepted by the foundation

DIF Charter

This “Project Charter” establishes the terms under which this Project operates

DIF Operating Addendum

This document governs DIF's governing bodies

Operating Addendum Steering Committee election process
DIF Participation Matrix

The list of benefits of DIF membership and other participation formats offered by the foundation

Participation Matrix
DIF Subsidiary assesment process

As recognition of this variety of legal and liability structures, DIF Steering Committee considers the following when a subsidiary of a large corporation applies for DIF membership.

Subsidiary assesment
DIF Code of Conduct

Creating an open, healthy and productive culture where members and the community can build and grow together. This is a living document, feel free to comment.

Code of Conduct GitHub - Code of Conduct
DIF Grants

A series of opportunities for companies to develop open-source services for the community.

Grants Operating Addendum
DIF Brand Guidelines

Guidelines and logos to represent DIF in the public

Brand Guidelines
Steering Committee minutes

A public document for the minutes and decisions made by the Steering Committee.

SC minutes

Steering Committee members

The following DIF members are the elected representatives of DIF's Steering Committee

Daniel Buchner
Sam Curren
Karyl Fowler
Rouven Heck
Catherine Nabbala Seppuuya
Markus Sabadello
Brent Zundel
Steven McCown
Yodahe Zemichael
Ankur Banerjee
Andor Kesselman

DIF team

The team helping the DIF community

Kim Hamilton-Duffy
Limari Navarrete
Damian Glover
Pratap Mridha